Saturday, September 26, 2015

3 years in!

Three years out, and my weight is around 76kg. It's still higher than I would like, but unfortunately I suffered a bad back injury two months ago and the lack of exercise and everyday movement has made me balloon pretty badly. I'm working on getting better, but thought I'd post my three year pics

Rock climbing - one of the things on my pre-sleeve to-do list!

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Photo update

I'm currently sitting around 74kg, which is a tiny bit higher than I would like, so I am focusing on eating healthily and getting lots of incident exercise throughout the day. I am having some injections in my back soon so that hopefully I can start running again pain-free!

Some photos to show where I am now!

At the Wildcats Ball this past weekend

Shopping in Paris at Christmas time

At my nieces birthday party getting my bouncy castle on!

Sunday, November 2, 2014

2 year update

Life with the sleeve is so normal, I don't even think about it most weeks. I rarely get any side effects, and while I have a lot of restriction still, I am still able to enjoy food and go out for meals if I want to.
I am sitting around 73kg which seems to be my comfortable weight. While I loved how I looked at 70kg, I basically have to exercise most days to achieve that, which isn't realistic with my lifestyle.

Time for some pictures!

At a recent wedding

With my sister in law at a wedding

At a new #parkrun that just started up

In some daggy clothes to play with the dogs - they are having pupcakes!

At my uni graduation - I can even make a black sack look okay!

I love how I look, I feel healthy, and I am really happy with the decision I made.

Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Photo from the weekend

Me at a friends wedding this past weekend. Wearing a Ginger and Smart dress, size 14. 

Saturday, March 29, 2014

Running up a storm

My weight likes to fluctuate between a range of 69 and 71.5, depending on what I have eaten and how much exercise I have done. I'm not weighing myself very often as I can gauge how I am doing my energy levels rather than a number on the scale.

I realised that I haven't documented my measurements since the end of January so grabbed the measuring tape out to see if I had lost any centimetres in the last two months. I've lost an extra 1cm on both my waist and hips which is progress - at least it's in the right direction. I think my measurements are a little hard to do now thanks to all the excess skin I have. 

I have also brought my 5km running time down by a minute to 32:25 which I am very happy with. Only two weeks now until the fun run in Bunbury. I ran 10km non-stop last weekend so at least I know that I can do it! I am aiming to do the 10k run in under 80 minutes. 

Taking Charlie for a run

Hubby, me, and our two dog-children

Running this morning - Personal Best time!

Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Reviewing my pre-surgery goals

At the beginning of this process, I wrote a post titled 'Things I want to do when I lose weight'. 
I wanted to revisit this list and see how I had progressed.

Parasailing – Weight limits have always kept me away from this, it looks like amazing fun

Nope - haven't gotten that far yet - but only because I can't find anywhere in Perth that does it!

Go rock climbing – similar reasons to parasailing, I think it would be so much fun yet my weight has held me back

Not yet but this is a great reminder - I will have to book in and give this a go! There are a couple of indoor rock climbing places in Perth and I think it would be great fun and an awesome workout as well! Consider my butt kicked and I will try and get to this in the coming month.

Take some dance classes – I love dancing but as I’ve put on more and more weight, I don’t do it anymore because I feel like a fat whale flopping about. I love hiphop dancing, but flamenco sounds pretty awesome as well.

I haven't taken up any dance classes yet, simply because I haven't had the time to do it. This is something that I might give a chance later in the year once I have finished uni classes.

Finish the couch to 5k program – I always start the C2K program but by week 3 my feet and body are so sore that I just give in and head back to the couch with an ‘it’s all too hard’ attitude. I want to be able to run 5km’s and be able to do it on a regular basis.

I now run regularly at least once a week, but sometimes more often. 5k is my regular distance and I actually enjoy the process of going running! This is probably my biggest transformation.

Shop at normal clothing stores – I love the look of clothes in Portmans, Cue, Sportgirl, Tokito but I’ve never been able to wear them. I’ve been a size 18 for most of my adult life, and recently expanded to a 20/22/24 pant size, which as you can imagine is very limiting to the clothes I can buy. I’d love to be able to walk into one of these stores and be able to try on a dress knowing that there will be something there that fits.

 Yep - I do this now! I love walking into every store and perusing through the beautiful clothes. I love that I can buy what I want now, rather than whatever is available that fits

Wear a bikini – Do you know I have never worn a bikini? Not as a child or teenager or young adult. I’m 26 and I’ve been ashamed of my body for most of my life. I know my body isn’t going to be perfect after this operation, and I know that my self-image isn’t going to miraculously fix itself, but I want to be proud of myself, and one day where a bikini. Not necessarily in public, at the beach or pool, but at least around friends or family in a backyard pool. 

I bought my first bikini! Sure, I haven't worn it out in public, but even trying it on was a huge achievement for me. 

Monday, March 3, 2014

Breaking the 70 mark

As of Saturday, I am down to 69.5kg. It's a pretty big achievement for me to finally be in the 60's. I'm not sure if I will stay there or not, my body is pretty fickle when it comes to what it wants to do, but right now I'm pleased as punch.

This past month, my husband and I have made an effort to make lunch to take to work, and cooking healthy dinners each night. Murray has been using MyFitnessPal to track his food intake which has helped him with accountability on what he is eating. On top of that, I bought him a FitBit One to help him stay focused on how much he is moving. This has made a huge difference to his mindset. He wont go to bed unless he has reached his 10,000 steps each day. If he has a bit to go, he will take the dogs out for a long walk before bed, and he makes smart decisions around parking further away from where he needs to go so that he can walk part of the way.

All of this put together has lead to him losing 8.1 kilos in the month of February! That's an incredible result for four weeks of effort. There was no missing out on food or having a heavily restricted diet. He stick to 2000 calories, and 10,000 steps a day, and if he exercised extra, he could eat back those calories if he wanted to.

We made all sorts of things for dinner: Spaghetti Bolognaise with extra zucchini and carrot, San Choy Bao, Mountain bread rolls with spinach, chicken, feta and salad, and I have learnt how to make the most amazing beetroot chorizo and spinach salad ever! Really easy food but so delicious and much healthier than hubby's go-to takeaway foods.

This first month I did all the cooking of lunch and dinners to be supportive, but it has wiped me out a bit. To help me out a bit, we are going to be getting a cleaner in once a fortnight to help me spend less time cleaning and more time doing cooking which I enjoy. Murray is also going to step up and do more of the cooking, now that he knows what healthy options are available, and how easy they are to prepare.